Trauma & Abuse >>> | What about "normal grief and loss? >>> | Stages of Grief

Stages of Grief

In 1964, Dr. Elizabeth Kubler-Ross described five stages of (normal) grief and observed in both the dying and the bereaved (survivors):

  • Denial
  • Anger
  • Bargaining
  • Depression
  • Acceptance

Here is another description of the grief process developed by researcher and clinical psychologist Therese Rando:

"Rando's Six R's

  • Recognize the loss: This stage is coming out of the shock and possibly denial that it has happened.
  • React: Emotions are part of the process.
  • Recollect and Re-Experience: Reviewing and revisiting memories are important aspects of healing from loss.
  • Relinquish: This is a slow process of putting the loss behind them by accepting the world has changed.
  • Readjust: With a return to regular life, the pain of loss is not so sharp, when the previous steps have been processed.
  • Reinvest: Although it is true that the world will never be the same, a healthy person reinvests in new relationships and commitments.

The EMDR Therapist Network

We invite you to explore this site and learn more about how unresolved issues from your past and present may keep you from enjoying success and happiness now, and in the future. We trust you will be pleased with the compassionate and effective care offered by our therapists.

Search Our Database
   The Network: EMDR Therapy with Qualified EMDR Therapists